Tags

, , , , ,

After a recommendation from a fellow redditor, I looked into Man Cave Soapworks, and promptly bought every scent they make. As an aside, it seems like most artisan soap makers put little effort into their packaging; I usually only buy the puck itself and just throw it into a mason jar or tupperware. For these, however, Carrie over Man Cave Soapworks appears to have actually put some effort and skill into crafting unique interesting labels for each of her soap scents. So, to any other soap-makers out there, presentation counts too!

Gentleman’s Tweed would be their take upon Creed’s classic Green Irish Tweed scent. Here’s what they have to say about it:

This rich, sporty scent bursts with a sprig of Dublin ivy and a blend of French verbena and lemon. Green herbaceous clover, sublime notes of mysore sandalwood and gray amber will make you wish you were with nary a care on O’Connell Street in Dublin; Guinness in hand.

It’s a bit sweeter than most other versions of this scent that I’ve smelled so far. All in all, it’s an extremely pleasant scent. Unfortunately, it’s not strong enough. Quite nice in the jar, but when lathered and applied to the face? Only the faintest occasional whiff. As anyone who reads my reviews on a regular basis knows, this is all too common of a fault amongst soaps across the board. Seriously people, I like your scents! I want to be able to smell them when I’ve shaving, not just when I’m sticking my nose in the jar.

For the shave itself, it performs about the same as most other Glycerine shave soaps that I’ve come across. Nice and thick lather, fairly decent amount of glide. No issues finding a good balance between the two. Plus it did seem to leave the face seeming a bit softer / nicer than most soaps.

Overall, I’d give it a 6/10. I wish it could be a bit stronger scented, but at that price point it might still be worth a shot.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Palm Oil, Safflower Oil, Glycerin, Purified Water, Sodium Hydroxide,  Organic Shea Butter, Sorbitol, Sorbitan Oleate, Bentonite Clay, Soy Bean Protein, Wheat Protein, Fragrance.

