Tags

, , , , , , ,

Man Cave - Gatsby

Gatsby from Man Cave Soapworks is a pleasantly spicy, masculine scent, which is complex enough that I can’t really describe it in much better detail than that. So, I’ll rely on what the proprietor Carrie says about it:

A throw-back to 1920′s Jay Gatsby with base notes of warm, sophisticated rum and amber. Afterthoughts of hazy musk and bay leaves make this blend irresistable. A nice, clean barber’s soap that’d make Daisy Buchanan swoon…

Seems accurate enough to me. It’s a nice scent, and I think I might order one of the solid cologne sticks that they produce in the same scent.

Strength-wise, it was so-so. You could make it out a bit when lathered up, but certainly not strongly.

And the lather itself is typical of many melt-and-pour shaving soaps that I’ve come across. It provides a perfectly reasonable shave, with a decent balance of thickness and glide. Nothing to write home about, just a nice solid shave, which left the face feeling nice.

So, I’m giving it a 6/10. Stronger scent would have been nice, but I’m not complaining too much here.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Palm Oil, Safflower Oil, Glycerin (kosher, of vegetable origin), Purified Water, Sodium Hydroxide (saponifying agent), Organic Shea Butter, Bentonite Clay, Sorbitol (moisturizer), Sorbitan oleate (emulsifier), Soy bean protein (conditioner), Wheat Protein (conditioner), fragrance

