Tags

, , , ,

RazoRock - Boston Tea Party

We were merry, in an undertone, at the idea of making so large a cup of tea for the fishes. – Joshua Wyeth

Personally, I think there’s a bit of a mis-match in the name of this soap, as I would have expected a black tea scent out of something named after the Boston Tea Party. But, instead we’ve got a green tea scent.

Update: Apparently I’m somewhat wrong! There was indeed some green tea thrown overboard at the Boston Tea Party, accounting for about 22% of the volume of the tea “used”.

It’s a nice fresh light scent, rather reminiscent of green tea with a little bit of something else I can’t place, something I think I’d say is in the “aquatic” family of scents.

It’s a bit hard to describe in part because it’s a light scent, and I’m sure most people reading this review are aware that I prefer my soaps to be reasonably strongly scented. This one isn’t all that strong in the tub, but once lathered, it’s really only barely noticeable while you shave.

As for the lather quality, well, as far as I can tell the only difference between this and RazoRock’s Caprician Lemon was the scent, both gave quite a spectacular shave. Very easy to lather up, with just a smidgen of water, it’ll produce a wonderfully thick lather with a lot of glide, and superior moisturization properties. Seriously top-notch.

  • 8/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 5/10 Scent Strength
  • 10/10 Lather Quality

So, overall I’m giving it a 7/10. A great lather, but not enough scent. There’s plenty of other soaps out there that provide both, or at least a better balance of the two.

  • Cost: $10 for a 125 mL tub. I should note that this line seems like it is often plagued by availability issues. As it’s all still made in small batches by one artisan soapmaker in Italy, the popularity of the soap seems to be outstripping the supply.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Stearic Acid, Tallow, Water, Cocos Nucifera, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance (Green tea), Potassium Carbonate

