Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Edit: This scent has been discontinued


No, I have no idea what exactly a Cumba Cheech is supposed to mean or refer to. Other than a rather nice shave soap, that is. The first impression is that it’s a quite soft shaving soap. Almost seems to have more in common with a cream than with a hard triple-milled style soap, with a bit more stiffness than Play-Doh.

Now, when shaving with most soaps, I’ll typically lather the soap in the container it came in (or whatever container I put it in), whereas with a cream, I’ll transfer a bit of the cream to my scuttle and lather it there. For this soap, I did one day of each, and found I had better results treating it as a cream.

It easily lathered up into a nice thick cushioning foam, which provided enough slickness and lubrication to make the shave go well. Or at least, the aspects of the shave that didn’t go well this morning I chalk up to the blade. I think I’m done trying out the Derby Extras.

As for the scent, it was rather nice. The sweetness of the orange blossom was mostly overpowered by the jasmine, with a hint of bitterness to the aroma. Overall, it came together well, and I rather enjoyed it.

Strength-wise, it came on strong enough, but dissipated quickly. So lather early and lather often! As I usually only lather a third of my face at a time (left, right, muzzle), this wasn’t too much of an issue.

  •  8/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 7/10 Scent Strength
  • 10/10 Lather thickness
  • 8/10 Lather slickness

Overall, I give it a 8/10. It gave a great shave, smelled good, and you certainly can’t argue with the price.

Gear used:

