Tags

, , , , ,

For my 2nd review of Mike’s Natural Soaps, I’ve got his Pine / Cedarwood scent.

The shave itself was still quite quite nice, although I didn’t have I didn’t have quite as much luck as last time getting the perfect blend of lather slickness and thickness. It was still great, mind you, just not absolutely wonderful. As the last time though, it definitely needed a fair bit more water than most, maybe I just ended up giving it a bit too much.

The scent was, well, spot on. It’s a fine recreation of pine and cedar-wood (as to be expecting, since it’s made from the essential oils of those two woods), with the pine dominant. It’s nice enough but not really something that I think I’ll find myself turning to all that often. A bit too raw I guess, I think it would have been better tempered with some other scents (I suspect I’ll like their Orange, Cedarwood, and Black Pepper scent better when I get around to reviewing it). That having been said, I’ll give it a couple bonus points for accuracy; if you’re looking for just a woodsy smell, this’ll do the trick.

Strength-wise, it came on strong enough when first applied to the face, but mostly faded after about 10 seconds.

If you’re looking for something woodsy, this is worth a shot. 8/10.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Distilled water; saponified tallow and stearic acid; vegetable glycerin; saponified kokum butter, avocado oil, and shea butter; lanolin, essential oils; saponified coconut oil;  kaolin clay, vitamin E.

