Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Crabtree and Evelyn - Nomad shaving cream

Edit: This product has since been discontinued. I’ve heard it’s similar to the Moroccan Myrrh they currently offer, although the description used by C&E for the scent has changed.


Crabtree & Evelyn’s Nomad shaving cream performed quite well. While my initial pass was a bit sub-par, as per usual it turned out to simply be a matter of insufficient water content. I will say, it did seem to be a bit thirstier than most creams I’ve seen, with the possible exception of those by Al’s Shaving Products.

Once that was cleared up, it became nice and slick, while retaining the bulk of its thickness. On the moisturization side of the house, I didn’t notice any particular difference in how my skin fared, good or bad. But all-in-all, I’d say that this was a rather nice shave.

Edit: After a further shave, I’m revisiting this one. While it did need a bit more water than what was just on the brush, I think I over-did it when adding some in. Drops were needed, not splashes. I honestly couldn’t really call it thirsty. And the moisturization honestly was pretty good. I’m bumping it up to a 9/10, both overall and on the lather quality.

The scent is exotic and spicy and a bit hard to describe. C&E call it a “refreshing blend of ginger, citron and bamboo”; like a lot of more complex scents, it’s a bit difficult to pick out the individual components, but I’d say the ginger is definitely the most noticeable. “Refreshing” is a good way to put it. I would have also accepted “invigourating”. It provided a good pick-me-up the mornings I used it.

The strength of the aroma was just shy of perfect. It was nice and strong when first applied to the face, and would have been a 10/10 if it had stayed that way. But it did experience some fading. Still, far better showing than most soaps and creams out there.

  • 9/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 9/10 Scent Strength
  • 9/10 Lather Quality

Overall, I’ll say this can be rounded up to a 9/10, and I’m putting it on the top ten list. I’d easily recommend this shaving cream.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Water, Stearic Acid, Myristic Acid, Glycerin, Potassium Hydroxide, Coconut Acid, Glycol Distearate, Fragrance, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triethylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Amyl Cinnamal Coumarin, Citral, Citronellol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Benzyl Alcohol, Magnesium Nitrate, Magnesium Chloride, Methylchloroiosthiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinonel.

I really wish they had had that listed on their website so I didn’t have to type it out myself.

