Tags

, , , , , , ,

MJ's Soap Shop - Tangerine and Grapefruit

Edit: The site has had the following message up for at least a few months now: “In order to perform site maintenance, our online shop has shut down temporarily. We apologize for the inconvenience and ask that you please try again later.”

I can only assume that this change isn’t actually all that temporary.


So this’ll be my first foray into reviewing a soap from my home country. Alas, I wasn’t all that impressed.

Well, with the scent at least. It’s supposed to be a tangerine and grapefruit. I love the smell of grapefruit, and I like tangerines, so I was rather looking forward to this one. Unfortunately, it ended up being far too weak to really appreciate. When lathered, there was essentially no scent left. When sniffing the shaving soap itself, even then the smell is somewhat overpowered by the smell of the other ingredients of the soap; what’s left is a vaguely sweet smell, one that I can’t really pick out any citrus notes from, and certainly not grapefruit.

The lather, on the other hand, performed admirably. It loaded easily, and lathered up nice and thick. It was relatively thirsty, but used what water was added well, building a nice creamy lather with good glide. It seemed to have a decent enough sweet spot for water content, and gave good moisturization to the face as well.

  • 6/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 3/10 Scent Strength
  • 9/10 Quality of Lather

So… if you’re one of those folk who don’t really care how the soap smells, I’d recommend giving this one a shot. Otherwise, eh, too plain, the scent does nothing to add to the shaving experience. Overall, I’m giving it a 5/10.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Tallow, Stearic Acid, Coconut Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Glycerine, Essential oils, White Kaolin Clay.

