Tags

, , , , , ,

La Toja shaving cream

It’s time to cross the pond once again, this time for a product from Spain; La Toja shaving cream.

This cream seemed to like a fair amount of water, however I did over-do it at one point, so just be sure to add it in gradually while you’re building it up. It resulted in a lather that had a really good balance of thickness and glide, with a fairly wide sweet spot that would allow you a bit of adjustment to your liking. I didn’t really notice anything good or bad about it moisturization wise.

The scent was rather masculine; rather hard to describe, to my untrained nose I’d say it’s mostly leather notes I think, with some smokey / woody aspects, and perhaps some musk? Not too spicy, although maybe there’s a bit there. Doing some searching, it seems like most others also have trouble pinning down exactly what it is they’re smelling! Anyways, it was reasonably pleasant.

Not very strong however. It started off at what I would say is middling strength, but started fading swiftly thereafter, and didn’t stop until pretty much all scent was gone by the time I finished my pass.

  • 8/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 6/10 Scent Strength
  • 8/10 Lather Quality

Overall, I believe I’ll be rounding this one up to a 7/10. It performs decently in most respects, but there’s nothing I’d consider outstanding about it.

  • Cost: While I normally don’t list sale prices, it seems Italian Barber might have this one on a semi-permanent sale price of $6.99 (from the original $9.99) for a 150g tube, since it’s still on for that price 9 months after I first ordered it. If anyone noticed the price going back up to the “regular”, let me know and I’ll fix this entry.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Aqua, Potassium Stearate, Potassium Palmitate, Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate, Sodium Stearate, Sodium Palmitate, Sodium Cocoate, Sodium Lactate, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Parfum, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Myristyl Sulfate, Mineral Salts, Sodium Cetyl Sulfate, Laureth 10, Sodium Stearyl Sulfate, Sodium Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Coumarin, Limonene, Linalool, Butylphenyl Methylpropional

