Tags

, , ,

Haslinger Meeresalgen

The next brand I’ll be trying out is Haslinger, who’ve been making shaving soaps out of Austria since 1890.

The scent of this soap is seaweed, made with real seaweed. I think I catch a little hint of that while sniffing it, but to be frank, overall, it just smells like soap. That’s while sniffing the puck itself; once lathered, it was essentially scentless.

The performance of the lather is quite good. With regards to the required moisture content, I’d say it’s about average. Not insanely thirsty like your Barrister and Mann or your Mike’s Natural, but it still needs a decent amount of water to do the job properly. But it does seem to have a reasonably large sweet spot, and it’s quite easy to whip up a nice thick lather, with good stability and good glide. I can’t say I noticed all that much in the way of moisturization properties however.

One thing I should note, for those who have allergies, the ingredient listing does include peanuts (Arachis Hypogaea). Or more likely peanut oil I suppose. But still, I’d suggest not putting it on your face if it could kill you.

  • 7/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 3/10 Scent Strength
  • 8/10 Lather Quality

Overall, I don’t really recommend this soap. It’s relatively affordable, and performs well, but the lack of scent doesn’t add anything to the experience for me, and there’s better soaps out there that perform better. 6/10.

  • Cost: I purchased this 60 gram puck from Italian Barber for $9.95.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Potassium Stearate, Sodium Stearate, Potassium Tallowate, Aqua, Propylene Glycol, Fucus Vesiculosus, Parfum, Arachis Hypogaea, Potassium Cocoate, Sodium Tallowate, Sodium Cocoate, Glycerine, Potassium Hydroxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Cl 61585, Bencylsalicylat, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Amylcinnamal, Hexlycinnamaldehyde, Butylphenyl, Methylpropional, Linalool, Hydroxymethylpentylcycloheencarboxaldehyde.

