Tags

, , ,

Barbus shaving cream

Barbus shaving cream is quite a thick cream, and was far from the easiest to lather. After the fact, I still found clumps of it sitting in my scuttle that had resisted the efforts of my brush. It eventually yielded a decent enough lather, I was able to get a good balance of lather thickness and glide with some fiddling, however it didn’t seem to have all that much in the way of lee-way for variation in water content on either side. Otherwise it ended up either too thin, or not enough glide.

The scent was, a herbal / medicinal smell that I wasn’t all that fond of. It was of middling strength; somewhat strong when first applied to the face, but and had mostly faded away by the end of each pass.

  • 6/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 7/10 Scent Strength
  • 6/10 Lather Quality

All in all, I can’t really say I’m all that much of a fan. 6/10.

  • Cost: Availability seems to be a bit of an issue. This one Slovakian site has it for 2.16 €; outside Europe, Shoe Box Shave Shop apparently carries it for $9.99, but they’re out of stock (both 150g). I haven’t seen samples of this scent readily available (this one was provided to me from Men Essentials, who don’t yet/might not carry it).

Gear used:

Ingredients: Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Coconut Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Potassium Hydroxide, Parfum, Boric Acid, Linalool, Coumarin, Limonene, Citral, Geranil, Citronellol.