Tags

, , , ,

I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews about Mike’s Natural Soaps, and after having tried my first sample, I can definitely see why.

My first shave with the stuff was pretty good. Decent amount of cushion, reasonably slick, etc. On my 2nd shave, I accidentally added a fair amount more water than I would have normally done so. And it turned out to be glorious. A little elbow grease (and perhaps using up a bit more soap than I might have otherwise), and I have a wonderful lather that was slick as a skating rink and cushioned like a dream. It was the best shave I’d had in, well, since I started doing these reviews.

And the scent was pretty darn good too. Mike promised a “Simple, sweet, citrusy invigorating lime”, and I would say he delivered. It’s quite pleasant.

Strength-wise, it’s not quite strong enough. The soap itself smells strongly, and follows to the lather, if not quite as strongly as I would have liked. While on the face, it’s smells nice but a tad weak, but at least it doesn’t fade all that much while shaving.

  • 9/10 Scent Pleasantness
  • 8/10 Scent Strength
  • 10/10 Lather Quality

Overall, it’s a great soap! 9/10. Thus far, it’s my favourite Lime scented soap. I highly recommend giving it a shot.

Gear used:

Ingredients: Distilled water; saponified tallow and stearic acid; vegetable glycerin; saponified kokum butter, avocado oil, and shea butter; lanolin, fragrance and/or essential oil(s); saponified coconut oil;  kaolin clay, vitamin E.

